State (Province) Regulations
State
Program Status
Cut Points

( % Opacity )

Test Frequency
Test Method
Vehicle Weight
Testing Site
Enforcement/Penalty
Links
Arizona
Pilot Program March 2002 for Roadside testing >10000 pounds
40%/50%

Loaded Test Cutpoints: 0-2000 ft =20% 2000-4000 ft =30% 4000 ft and above = 40%

Yearly
SAE J1667
>8500 pounds
Maricopa and Pima Counties
N/A
California
July 1, 1998
40%/55%
Annually
Roadside/Random
SAE J1667
LDDV
HDDV
Self-Inspection
$800
Second $1,800
Colorado
1987
40/35/20
Annually, Front Range Only
Reg. 18
LDDV
HDDV
Stations/Self-Inspection
LDDV $750
HDDV $1,500
Connecticut
May, 1999 Roadside enforcement in effect
40/55/70
Roadside, random
SAE J1667
LDDV
HDDV
weigh stations for heavy duty, inspection centers for light duty
$300 first violation, $500 for 2nd. 45 days to repair, if no proof presented, then registration suspension starts
Idaho
July 1, 2000
N/A
NA
N/A
LDDV
N/A
N/A
Illinois
July 1, 2000
40/55
Annually
SAE J1667
HD
Centralized
N/A
Maine
Legislation passed, penalties began in Jan. 1, 2000
40/55 proposed
Roadside, random
SAE J1667
>18,000 lbs
Roadside
$200 1st violation, $500 2nd violation. No fine if repairs made within 30 days.
Maryland
July 1, 2000
40/55
roadside
J1667
> 10,000 lbs.
Discretion of state police
$1,000 penalty issued if excess smoke not repaired within 30 days. After 30 days, registration suspension starts.
Massachusetts
September, 2000
40/55

30/40 for buses
random roadside and biennial
SAE J1667
> 10,000 lbs. (also light duty)
weigh stations and licensed inspection centers
$100 1st violation (60 days), $700 2nd, $1,300 3rd for roadside, For periodic, vehicles must pass inspection to renew registration
Nevada
N/A
70
Random Roadside
SAE J1667
LDDV ,8500
HDDV, < 8500
N/A
$850
New Hampshire
1999
40/55
random roadside
SAE J1667
>10,000
weigh stations
$100 1st violation (60 days), $300 2nd, $500 3rd

3rd violation w/in one year becomes a criminal offense
New Jersey
September 1997
40/55/70

and 30/40 for buses
random roadside, biennial for periodic
SAE J1667 w/ RPM & oil temp, use of rolling and stall test
>18,000 lbs
weigh stations for roadside, inspection centers for periodic
$700 1st violation $1,300 2nd violation. First violation reduced to $300 if repaired within 45 days.
New York
June, 2000
40/55/70

30/40 for buses
Roadside for all of NY state and annual NY City (5) Westchester, Rockland, Nassau, Suffolk
SAE J1667
>8,500 lbs
Weigh stations and roadside; inspection centers for periodic
$700 1st violation, $1,300 2nd violation. First violation reduced to $150 and second to $500 if vehicle passes a smoke test within 30 days.
Ohio
2001
40/55/70
Bus Fleets Only
SAE J1667 (4x4)
Others dyno
LDDV >10,000
N/A
$100 older models
$200 newer models
Rhode Island
Pilot completed
40/55 anticipated
N/A
SAE J1667 anticipated
N/A
N/A
N/A
Utah
Salt Lake City Area
70% HDDV
40% LDDV
Self-testing plus stations
SAE J1667
HDDV
LDDV
Depends on county
N/A
Vermont
Pilot completed
40/55 anticipated
N/A
SAE J1667 anticipated
N/A
N/A
N/A
Washington
August 1993
70/60/50
Biannual for private, annual for governmental
SAE J1667
All 1968 and newer
Self-inspection
$100 older than 1980
$150 1981 and newer
BC/Canada
May 1999
HDDV 40/55
LDDV 20/10/5
Random w/roadside vans
SAE J1667
Testing of visible emitters
Roadside
Forced repairs within 30 days, or denial of license/insurance